DCRP: We Create Happiness

I’m now a Walt Disney World Cast Member, a Universal Orlando Annual Premier Pass holder, and a Wirral girl living in Florida!

I’ve been in Orlando for a week now, and today I finished another class at Disney University. DISNEY UNIVERSITY. I’m studying how to create happiness in the place where dreams come true. Obviously with a lot of training for my VERY hard-working role in Food & Beverage. It’s my duty to make magic for families by sharing my British culture
amongst the long hours of working in a fast-paced show.

IMG_3600

When I arrived last Saturday I stayed at Disney’s Pop Century resort for the first time! It was quirky and fun for a value resort. I wouldn’t rush back as I want to stay at different resorts rather than the same ones (aiming for a night at the Grand Floridian too!).

My first full day in Orlando was spent resort hopping. Beginning with the Magic Kingdom monorail circuit, I then hopped on over to Disney’s Art of Animation. It’s a b-e-a-u-tiful resort with such gorgeous artwork of The Lion King, The Little Mermaid, Finding Nemo, and Cars. After meeting up with some UK friends, we spent a breathtaking evening on the beach of the Polynesian Resort, watching the new Magic Kingdom fireworks in the distance: Happily Ever After.

On Monday 7th I moved into Disney Housing at Vista Way. I’m now living in a 6-person apartment with 5 other wonderfully welcoming girls! I am so blessed to have such nice flatmates. They’re all American and I love meeting new people so it’s just perfect!

Wednesday 9th was SO MUCH FUN! I purchased a premier annual pass for both Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure! I met up with my friend, Andy, and we had a hilarious day getting the best seats on the rides and seeing Squidward from Spongebob dab in the parade. It was unbelievably funny.

IMG_3514

Thursday 10th was Disney Traditions. The day I became a Cast Member, was hugged by my new boss (Mickey Mouse!), and shed a lot of tears. It was the day I’d always dreamt of.

Playing in the parks is one of the perks of the job, and Friday’s Magic Kingdom trip was amazing. We got fast passes for Pirates, Haunted Mansion and Jungle Cruise. I got my first Cast Member door and Purple Wall pics, which have changed my Instagram life for real (@laurensfloatinglights).

Over this week I’ve eaten at Planet Hollywood, Blaze Pizza, and Earl of Sandwich in Disney Springs. I’ve had Disney chicken nuggets (the best nuggets EVER!) in Magic Kingdom’s Harbour House. Beautifully golden Mickey waffles for breakfast, and my own grocery shopping from Walmart. There’s so much food I want to experience, but there’s no rush!

Amongst the fun comes the work. I’ve attended several housing meetings and day-long presentations. It’s been very intense but it’ll be rewarding when I start work properly! I’m so excited!

I start training at the Rose & Crown next week. It’s going to change my life. Let the magic begin!

5 thoughts on “DCRP: We Create Happiness

Add yours

  1. So happy for you Lauren seeing that smile is just wonderful 😍😍 Enjoy every minute as I know you will x

    Like

  2. I did the CRP 1998-99 and it was amazing. I lived in the Commons which was newly opened when I arrived. I worked in merchandise and had an amazing year and made friends for life. Florida is so much a part of my life and I return as often as possible with my family. Enjoy your year.

    Like

  3. Have a blast Lauren! You are creating wonderful memories both yours and the people you meet!
    Proud you are representing Northern England. Couldn’t ask for a better person!
    I hope Annie and Jack both embrace their dreams as you have done!

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑