One Month Living in Walt Disney World

I’ve been living in Orlando for over a month!!! Does anyone know where that time went? Because I don’t!

I’ve completed all training and ‘earned my ears’ in Epcot’s Rose & Crown, U.K. Pavilion. This means I’m fully working for the mouse now!

My role in the Rose & Crown started on podium. This means I greet guests and deal with their reservations and walk-in dining, seat families from all over the world at their table and make sure they’re comfortable, and stock all the essentials of the restaurant (including MANY kegs of beer!). I also work in the Yorkshire fish and chip shop where guests can get quick service beer battered tilapia fish and chips, as well as miniature Victoria Sponge Cake and beers.

I’ll be playing my role on podium for at least 4 months, and I’ll then begin ‘earning my ears’ again, but to move up in the Rose & Crown role. I will then take written tests and physical ones too, so that I can become a server (waitress).

To become a server in Walt Disney World is going to be a level of high expectations I’ve never experienced before, but one meal with a phenomenal server who goes all out for you can change your whole vacation.

For now I’ll continue my role on podium, in which I’ve already been told I was a guests’ favourite Cast Member, and I’ve had people tell me I’ve made their day. It can be little sprinkles of magic such as giving children Disney stickers, to telling a family all about my culture and the program, that makes their experience far more memorable.

Last night I spent the end of my shift letting guests into the VIP Illuminations firework view area. I just stood for 15 minutes and watched Epcot light up the night sky with a sensational show – I got paid for it! People spend their lives saving up to see that show, and here I am hearing it every single night!

Outside of work, I’m pleased with myself that I talk to anyone I can. But for the first month I’ve been here, I’ve felt a little lost and sometimes very lonely. As I had the earliest arrival date, I’ve been waiting for all my friends on the program to arrive, and especially ones on the summer program! I’m SO EXCITED! 

img_4803.jpg

I’ve been to Disney’s Hollywood Studios and ridden Rock’n’rollercoaster (it’s my favourite ride EVER!), gritted my teeth through Tower of Terror as it stopped working for 30 seconds mid ride… Honestly, I think my heart stopped. I’ve met Olaf, Chip and Dale, Starlord and Baby Groot, Kylo Ren (so intimidating!), and been on Toy Story Mania. I skipped down Hollywood Boulevard and ate Disney chicken nuggets.

IMG_6031.JPG

I’ve watched Happily Ever After (Magic Kingdom), Fantasmic (Hollywood Studios), Illuminations (Epcot), and also I finally got to see Rivers of Light (Animal Kingdom).

Considering I’ve been working 6 days a week, I do actually have to do adult-life things too! I shop at Walmart and Publix, and I learnt that American Subway sandwiches aren’t as good as in the U.K. I found a British food isle in Publix, which even has Nando’s sauces!

I’m settling down well, as I just can’t believe how quickly time is going. Every day is magical in some way, and I’m very grateful for it.

IMG_6046

 

15 thoughts on “One Month Living in Walt Disney World

Add yours

  1. Love reading ur bloggs Lauren, sounds like ur having a magical time, as big Disney fans me and my daughter love reading what it’s like to actually be part of the crew xx Good Luck and keep us updated with ur wonderful memories xx

    Like

  2. It’s so good to hear you are having a blast lauren😀, I loved this blog as it show me what I have to come when I start my Disney academic exchange program in July😬🙈. I can’t wait to see what else you do in your next blog!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So pleased it is working out for you hope your less lonely now x Cannot wait to see where the adventure leads you next. No wonder you were a guests favourite as I know your magic & sparkle will shine through to each and every guest x x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This makes for wonderful reading Loz, you are never far from our thoughts, especially as Olivia has named her Rapunzel doll “Lauren” I kid you not x Sending all our love N,J,W,G & O x

    Like

  5. The fact Portuguese Nando’s Sauce is in the British Aisle .. :’D spot on. Great read as always! Miss you!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑