Two Month Celebrations With a Staycay at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge Resort

IMG_3607.jpg

The best way to celebrate two months working for the Mouse, had to include a well deserved Walt Disney World staycay (stay-on-property vacation!). My friends and I packed an overnight bag, a ridiculous amount of Mickey Mouse ears, and we headed to Disney’s Wilderness Lodge Resort for a night of bliss.

So far I’ve stayed at Disney’s Port Orleans French Quarter, Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa, and Pop Century. The best thing about being on the Disney U.K. Cultural Representative Program is you get the opportunity and time to do things you could never normally cram into a two week family vacation.

My friends and I had absolutely NO IDEA that the villa we’d booked was going to be in Wilderness Lodge’s Boulder Ridge… in a Disney Vacation Club room! This is usually exclusive for DVC members only, so we were staying in a room that we never thought we would!

IMG_5824.JPG

After we’d unpacked our bags and had what was basically an Instagram photo shoot, we headed to the Roaring Fork quick service inside the hotel. It was THE best quick service food I have ever experienced in Disney. There was a wide range from meat-loving dishes to vegetarian flatbreads. I was that impressed that I’ll probably go back there just for the quick service some time! They also had their signature campfire cupcake, which has an oozing Oreo and marshmallow filling, with a chocolate pebble campfire and icing flames on top!

IMG_5875

Wandering around Wilderness Lodge was so refreshing, and so stunning. But us Disney keenos cannot be kept away from the parks, as hard as we may try!

From the resort you can get to Disney’s Magic Kingdom park by boat, or by bus. We chose to spontaneously stuff our faces with the bonfire cupcake as we sailed towards Cinderella’s Castle! We only had 15 minutes until the Happily Ever After fireworks were going to start, and they began just as we docked in front of the Magic Kingdom!

I would never usually run down Main Street USA. It’s just something that should never be rushed. But as the Happily Ever After music filled our ears and hearts, we ran down Main Street towards the castle as the fireworks exploded with pixie dust above us. We found a perfect spot and, of course, I wept. I just love that show.

It was also pouring down, but that didn’t stop the magic. Once Happily Ever After ended we moved against the crowd, towards the castle, ready for the Once Upon a Time projection show. I’d never seen it before, so I was extremely excited. But before it even began, a VERY magical moment happened.

I witnessed a proposal in front of Cinderella’s Castle!!! It was wonderful, and everyone was stood around in a circle, cheering and applauding. It was so lovely.

At 10pm, Once Upon a Time began, and it was very emotional. The theme is that Mrs Potts (Beauty and The Beast), is telling stories to her son, Chip. But the stories are from Disney! Including Winnie The Pooh, Alice in Wonderland, Peter Pan, Cinderella, Frozen, and, of course, Beauty and The Beast. I loved it!

We then got the boat back to Wilderness Lodge, and I got what I’d been waiting for… a bubble bath!!! I can’t tell you how much I’ve wanted to read my book in a hot bubble bath since I left my home in England! It’s the little things!

The next morning, the sun was shining and my appetite for golden Mickey waffles and maple syrup was in full force. We headed back to the Roaring Fork quick service for breakfast, and then set up camp by the pool for the day.

IMG_5904

I thought Wilderness Lodge was an incredibly stunning resort, and it felt like we were actually in a U.K. Center Parcs! I really liked the way it wasn’t too Disney. There was plenty of Disney references around the resort, but it wasn’t crazy. It was such a nice break.

I’m so excited for my next staycay! I wonder where I’ll stay next? Good job I have 10 months left to find out!

 

3 thoughts on “Two Month Celebrations With a Staycay at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge Resort

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑