Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party 2018

I’d dreamt of experiencing Walt Disney World at Christmas since I can remember. I always wanted to see the tree at the top of Main Street USA, wish Mickey a very merry Christmas, and, of course, see Cinderella’s Castle in all its festive glory. My time had finally arrived at the beginning of November, as the pixie dust turned to snow, and the smell of gingerbread filled the air.

Every year, Magic Kingdom hosts a snowflake-filled spectacular for guests who enjoy all things Christmas. ‘Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party’ takes over most nights at the Kingdom, with glorious shows, parades, and unlimited hot cocoa and cookies to munch on! My expectations for the party were high, as it had big mouse shoes to fill after Halloween’s ‘Not-So-Scary’ – little did I know, I’d love ‘Very Merry’ even more! 

On November 30th, my roommate, Aimee, and I put on our matching Christmas outfits (which I did change out of a few times, if you notice in the pics!), and took the bus to Magic Kingdom. As soon as we stepped onto Main Street USA, the traditional giant Christmas tree (wrapped in popcorn tinsel!) towered over us. We headed off into the party, with all the Christmas joy in our eyes.

We were SO hyped for the character meet-and-greet we’d dreamed of: Nick Wilde and Judy Hopps, from Disney’s Zootropolis! Tomorrowland called our names as we ran over the bridge towards their meeting spot. 

I can’t quite believe that evening I got to tell Judy Hopps that she “inspires me every day”. I think the smile on my face says it all really. She hugged me so hard. Judy’s character always reminds me to try everything, and you can be anything you want to be!

We also met Mary Poppins and chimney sweep Bert, which was an extremely delightful experience. I was in awe at their magic and practically perfect conversation. We naturally captured one of my favourite Disney pictures of all time. 

B71F7D59-E9DB-4EB8-98A0-33D472F60270.jpeg

After this, it was time to watch Elsa light up the castle with her icy powers during A Frozen Holiday Wish. I had tears in my eyes when I saw the castle light up the night sky with all its twinkling Christmas lights! It’s something that pictures will never do justice.

Running back down Main Street USA, we were desperate to meet The Nightmare Before Christmas’ Jack Skellington, as the film’s infamous Sandy Claws. He was SO ready for the festive season. He brought out a lot of laughter in us! 

5B0EB6DC-4252-45FF-B733-1E0FC2D3DE1978CE9995-F31D-4AF8-94B5-DA2B1DFA5FC7

Don’t forget, in between all this running around, there are several cookie points and hot cocoa in the Kingdom, as well as appearances of some snow-cones! 

The Christmas fireworks began at 10pm, and with the name ‘Holiday Wishes’, I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. Magic Kingdom’s previous nightly fireworks show, ‘Wishes’, holds a special place in my family memories. I was longing to relive it again, in some way. 

‘Holiday Wishes’ was so beautiful. It even included a snippet of the original ‘Wishes’ display! With Jiminy Cricket talking about family at Christmas time, I couldn’t help but get a lump in my throat. It really hit home. 

476E9BB3-A28B-417E-A763-2C8CB8FE515C.jpeg

Once we’d gotten too emotional over the fireworks, and hugged it out in front of the castle, we went to meet Rapunzel and Eugene, who were meeting… together. At ‘Very Merry’, several princesses actually meet with their prince. It’s a lovely opportunity to get rare photos you’d never usually be able to get.

At the Princess Fairytale Hall in Fantasyland, we met Tiana and Naveen from The Princess and The Frog, before meeting Rapunzel and Eugene. They loved questioning Aimee about her Scottish food, and comparing Tiana’s New Orleans Gumbo to Scottish haggis. It was quite the experience. 

E5FEA196-813A-4536-9EAB-BDD0A8308267175286D5-051F-44E6-B143-32CE013383B7

My heart fell out of my mouth when I met Rapunzel and Eugene (Flynn Rider) together. They loved my hair, and we talked for a while! Unfortunately my pictures didn’t turn out, but I will never forget it. It’s all about the magic!

It was then time for the part of the night I’d been extra eager for: Once Upon a Christmastime Parade! I’d avoided spoilers on social media, so it was like opening a giant Christmas present for me.

The floats were absolutely gorgeous, and I particularly loved the toy soldiers, as I’d seen them in Disneyland Paris when I was very young! 

 

F1FD4A30-0E21-4205-A414-5D248BDE6219.jpeg

Our night ended with Mickey’s Most Merriest Celebration, on the castle stage at 11:55pm. We went to the latest show, as it was less crowded! I have to say, I didn’t particularly enjoy the show. It didn’t grasp the Disney magic for me, and it was too much. YouTube it, I dare you! 

Overall, I loved the party. I had a fantastic first experience, so much so, I won’t be going again this Christmas! My night was THAT special, I don’t want to risk tainting the memories of it by going again!

If you ever go to Walt Disney World around Christmas, I wouldn’t miss ‘Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party’ for the world! Definitely attempt to go mid November/beginning of December to avoid the bigger crowds. 

I had sooo much fun. It was the first thing to kick off the Christmas season for me, and it was certainly ‘merry’ indeed! 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑