Walt Disney World Resort Hotels, Ranked

To stay in a Walt Disney World resort usually costs a small mortgage, so you want to get it right. During my trips to Orlando and my year on the Disney Cultural Representative Program, I’ve had the privilege to stay in 11 different resorts. Some of my friends made it their aim to stay in all 25+ Disney resorts, but I wanted to spend money on travelling a lot more. From the incredible 11 I managed to spend the night in, here’s how I felt about them! (Starting with my favourite overall). 

*All rankings are based on my own personal experience. The people you stay with also have an impact on how magical it can be!*

1. Disney’s Contemporary Resort – Club Level with a Magic Kingdom View

The Contemporary was my dream resort for so long. I would never have been able to afford it if I wasn’t a Cast Member! Myself and three friends split the cost between us, which made it more realistic. The Contemporary is a deluxe resort within walking distance of the Magic Kingdom.

We stayed Club Level too, which means we had access to an exclusive lounge area. The lounge serves hot and cold food, and non-alcoholic/alcoholic drinks throughout the day!

With a view of Cinderella’s castle, and watching the Happily Ever After Fireworks from our balcony, this was my favourite stay at any Disney resort.

 

2. The Cabins at Disney’s Fort Wilderness Resort

If you really want to feel close to nature, Fort Wilderness is the one for you. Hidden amongst giant trees is a resort where you can ride horses, drive around in golf carts, and roast marshmallows under the stars.

For my 21st birthday, my friends and I stayed in a cabin at Fort Wilderness. This is classed as a moderate resort, though the cabins are big and can sleep up to 6 people. Featuring it’s own kitchen, bathroom, flat screen TV, BBQ, bedroom (including bunk beds!), and decking, it felt like a home away from home. The cabin was stunning, and it allowed us to relax away from crowds of the parks and the traditional hotel experience.

Fort Wilderness.JPG

3. Disney’s Port Orleans Resort – Riverside – Royal Guest Room

If you want the princess treatment, the Riverside Royal Guest Room is for you. When you check into this resort, you receive a letter from Princess Tiana herself, inviting you to stay in her royal guest room. It’s beyond magical, as every room is covered in gifts from Disney princesses. From Aladdin’s magic carpet to woodwork from Snow White, the beauty and grace of your stay will be remembered forever.

I absolutely adored staying in the Royal Guest Room, and would love to again! Riverside is classed as a moderate resort, so it won’t break the bank. The ‘oldie-worldie’ buildings and mill are amazing, so it’s easy on the eyes.

4. Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort 

Aloha, travellers! To stay at the Polynesian is to transport yourself to a tropical haven. Famous for it’s beach, Tiki Tiki theming, and it’s banana bread pudding, this is a deluxe resort for a reason. The fiery fun this resort brings is brilliant. With unique flavours in it’s restaurants, tranquil palm trees, and a secret bar, the Polynesian is absolute resort goals.

When I stayed here, I hopped onto a boat that took me straight to Magic Kingdom from the Polynesian. After hours of fun, I was thrilled to come back to the Polynesian and relax in my stunning room. It was dreamy, and I have been dreaming about it ever since!

5. Disney’s Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

She is classy and sophisticated, she is the Grand Flo! One of the most aesthetically pleasing resorts you’ll ever lay your eyes on, this beauty is also located on the Magic Kingdom loop and is the main deluxe resort. Just google the Grand Floridian, you’ll see what I mean.

We actually got upgraded to Club Level when we stayed here, and it was gorgeous. The rooms are elegant and bright. The hotel has influences of Disney classics such as Cinderella and Mary Poppins. It even has it’s own wedding pavilion, which is to die for!

6. Disney’s Wilderness Lodge – Boulder Ridge Villas

Even though it’s one of the least expensive deluxe resorts, Disney’s Wilderness Lodge is bliss. You’ll feel at ease with the sound of trickling rivers, nature around you, and the peace this resort brings. Alike Fort Wilderness, it’s surrounded by trees so it takes you right out of the typical theme park madness. In comparison, it’s a lot more glamorous and feels like a resort rather than a campground.

In the Boulder Ridge Villas, you’re located in a separate area of the resort. The villa-style rooms are equipped with a kitchenette, double bathroom sinks, bath/shower, a queen and sofa bed, and your own balcony. I enjoyed staying at Wilderness Lodge, as it’s so cosy. I was fortunate enough to also stay there on my final night of the program, in a standard room (pictured below).

7. Disney’s Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter

French Quarter will always have a special place in my heart. With it being the first Walt Disney World resort I ever stayed in, it’s very sentimental. The New Orleans theming, piping hot beignets, and super fun swimming pool made me return several times during my program.

Located a quick boat trip from Disney Springs, French Quarter is a fantastic resort to stay in and is extremely family-friendly. You’ll feel like you’re strolling down the streets of New Orleans, and the jazz music will transport you there. It’s also a moderate resort, like Riverside!

Mickey Beignets

8. Disney’s Animal Kingdom Lodge

Just around the corner from Disney’s Animal Kingdom is a resort that’ll make you roar. You can watch giraffes stride into the pride lands from your hotel room, and bask in the African Savannah. This deluxe resort is different as it’s educational too, with daily animal feeds and facts around the hotel.

My boyfriend and I spent a night in the Animal Kingdom Lodge, and had dinner at Boma. I would genuinely stay at the resort again just to eat that food! It’s one of my favourite restaurants on property, which makes the hotel even more amazing.

AKL

9. Disney’s Pop Century Resort – Renovated Rooms 2018

Cheap and cheerful, Pop Century is my favourite value resort by far. With a large food cafeteria, shop, and lobby, the hotel was a ‘yes’ from me as soon as I arrived.

I actually stayed at Pop Century for Christmas 2018. The renovated room was perfect. With brand new beds, a massive flat screen TV mounted on the wall, and a super-clean bathroom, the resort was ideal. It’s really close to Epcot, and is considered one of the cheapest resorts on property. It’s really good value for money, and it has several pools too!

Pop Century

10. Disney’s Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa

I stayed at Saratoga in 2016, so it’s a little blurry to me. The reason it’s so far down on my list is because I can’t remember it as much as the others. This timeless resort is located opposite Disney Springs, so it’s convenient as well as beautiful! Named after New York’s very own Saratoga Springs, it has décor featuring the iconic horses from Disney movies.

It’s a very big resort, with villas and treehouses too. I also stayed here with my family, and my dad would sit out on our balcony every morning and read his book! We had several rooms in our villa, with two bathrooms, a master bedroom, a kitchen, and a living room (with a king sofa bed). 

I wasn’t a fan of the quick-service options in Saratoga, but it may well have changed since 2016! Although, it’s a lovely deluxe resort.

Saratoga-Springs-Resort
Image from Disney Tourist Blog

11. Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort 

I know what you’re thinking, am I crazy? Hear me out. I stayed at Coronado January 2019, so it was under heavy construction. The quick service food wasn’t great, and there was hardly anything there at the time. My boyfriend and I hardly paid anything to stay there, due to the renovations happening. It didn’t have much character, and that’s why from my experience it’s at the bottom of my list.

The room was comfortable and cosy, and I was quite impressed with it for how cheap it was. However, I’d LOVE to stay there now. Since summer 2019, it’s been transformed into a magnificent resort with two brand new buildings. With it’s own tower and sky-high restaurant, you can see all of Walt Disney World as you dine. I can’t wait to visit one day and see the glow up of Coronado! By the way, it’s a moderate resort. That’s mind-blowing for the quality it is now.

Coronado

Walt Disney World Know how to do it 

Don’t forget, every Disney resort is imagined with magic and heart. Each is unique and made to fit colourful themes, with most going to infinity and beyond with style. The best way to figure out what resort is best for you is by checking them out on the Walt Disney World website, and watching vlogs on YouTube! That way you can truly see what they’re like before you book.

I know this has been a long one, but I wanted to rank my resorts right! You can see more photos of my staycays on my Instagram @laurensfloatinglights.

 

One thought on “Walt Disney World Resort Hotels, Ranked

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑