2021 Life Update: New Beginnings

You made it to 2021! Congrats! Now that we’re a few weeks into the year, it’s time for a life update. My life has changed dramatically since January 1st, and emotions have been high. The year started off in ways I wouldn’t have imagined 6 months ago. So, here’s to new beginnings

The new Beginning That Started Six Months ago

Last August, during a worldwide pandemic, I left my previous job to go down a path of working on my own terms. Over the years, I’ve always been a hard worker and if I want something I give it my all. I actually wrote ‘You’re not the Only one Having a Career Crisis‘ before I decided to follow my new dream of working in Digital Marketing. I longed to work from my laptop, in the comfort of my own home (or wherever I want in the world!). So, that’s what I worked towards.

After I became a free woman with heaps of time on my hands, I began volunteering for an incredible business called Girls in Marketing. Amazingly, I applied for a different position within the business, but they created a job role specifically for me: Content Coordinator. Due to my passion for writing and creating online content, they saw my potential to bring a new, fresh feel to the company. The Girls in Marketing founder and managing director, Olivia, took a shine to my positivity and dedication to my voluntary role. We’ve worked closely together ever since, and I’ve been proud to be a volunteer for her ever-growing business.

During my volunteer work, I’ve been bettering myself and my marketing skills. New beginnings can come from learning new skills! From completing a (free) Google Digital Garage Fundamentals of Digital Marketing course, to my Digital Marketing Institute qualification, I’ve poured hours into learning. Lockdown has been a drag, but also crucial for the days I’ve spent happily typing on my laptop and highlighting pages.

The new Beginning That was Hard to Accept

Fast forward to New Year 2021. Finally, we were out of the year that we’ll never forget! Well, a few days in and my partner of 3 years and I parted ways on respectful, mutual terms. Despite it being incredibly sad after making many memories together, it’s okay for people to want different things in life. Nowadays, people always assume that break ups happen due to someone hurting the other. That doesn’t have to be the case. You can still unconditionally care for someone and long to see them thrive in everything they do, yet come to an agreement that you’re going to be apart. You don’t need to ‘throw away’ any amount of time you spend in a relationship. Those weeks, months or years are an important part of your life. It’s healthy to celebrate what you had, grieve future thoughts and feel loss. I’m beyond grateful for the last 3 years, and I thank Adam for helping me become the woman I am today!

The new Beginning That I Wanted

After turning 23 and spending the day being drenched in love, cards, flowers and lockdown celebrations, it was time for a new chapter. I longed for a change in pace and a chance to put all my efforts of the last few months into a new job. Application after application, I wasn’t giving up.

It’s now January 20th. Today, I write this as a 23-year-old, single woman who just landed herself two paid jobs in Digital Marketing! WOOHOO! I’m now the newly promoted Marketing and Community Management Coordinator for Girls in Marketing. Not only this, but I’m also the Digital Marketing Executive for A to Mee, a wonderful Digital Marketing consultancy. Each role consists of Email Marketing campaigns, Social Media Marketing, content creation, PR, writing copy and more. 6 months ago I was someone who’d always thought, ‘I’d like to try that’. Despite all the gruelling hours, waiting to hear back from companies and completing courses, I DID IT! It all started from volunteering with Girls in Marketing, as with that came these two incredible opportunities.

Sharing this life update is important to me, as I need you to know that you can achieve what’s best for you. Even if it’s hard to begin with, or you have to make a change to your lifestyle/job to get there. The reward at the end of the struggle outweighs everything else. You are capable of making yourself happy, despite what you may think of yourself. It’s taken several years of constant support from my previous partner, a lot of confronting my insecurities and encouragement from friends. But, I’m finally accepting myself and everything I deserve: self-happiness.

Do you want to try out any new beginnings this year? There’s plenty of time to love yourself!

4 thoughts on “2021 Life Update: New Beginnings

Add yours

  1. You’ve got this sweetie, we are so proud of you.

    You make me want to be more and Madison and Liberty think you are the bees knees Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑